Alabama Public Charter School Commission February 10, 2025, 12:00 P.M. Via Zoom

MINUTES

The Alabama Public Charter School Commission (APCSC) meeting took place February 10, 2025, at 12:00 P.M. via a Zoom meeting to consider matters relevant to duties of the Alabama Public Charter School Commission outlined in the *Alabama School Choice and Student Opportunity Act* for public charter schools in Alabama.

Welcome, Approval of Agenda and Minutes

Presiding: Dr. Shelia Austin, Chairman

The following commission members were present to establish a quorum:

Dr. Shelia Austin Mrs. Joslyn Reddick Dr. Faron Hollinger Mr. Ryan Kendall

Mr. Charles Knight

Dr. Cynthia McCarty

Mrs. Julie Ann McCulley

Dr. Sharon Porterfield

Dr. Dorothy Houston

Dr. M Javed Khan - absent Mrs. LaKeisha Wheeler -absent Ms. Deborah Alvis -absent

Mrs. Marla Green -absent

Also present: Mrs. Logan Searcy, Alabama Charter School Commission Executive Director Mr. Lane Knight, Esq.

Dr. Austin welcomed everyone to the meeting and introduced the newest commissioner, Mrs. Joslyn Reddick, appointed by Senate Minority Leader, Bobby Singleton.

On motion by Commissioner Knight and seconded by Commissioner Kendall, the commission voted unanimously to approve today's agenda and the minutes for the January 13, 2025, meeting.

Consideration of Additional Grade for Floretta P. Carson

The commission was given a copy of the letter from Floretta P. Carson to add one grade (11th) to their school. On a motion by Commissioner Knight and seconded by Commissioner Kendall, the commission voted unanimously to accept the motion to accept the proposed grade level.

Commissioners voting in favor:

Dr. Shelia Austin

Dr. Faron Hollinger

Mr. Ryan Kendall

Mr. Charles Knight

Dr. Cynthia McCarty

Mrs. Julie Ann McCulley

Dr. Sharon Porterfield

Mrs. Joslyn Reddick

Dr. Dorothy Houston

Consideration of Charter Contract Renewal Template

Mr. Lane Knight provided the commission with a Charter Contract Renewal template. The commission requested more time to review the template. On a motion by Commissioner Knight and seconded by Commissioner Wheeler the vote was tabled.

Commissioners voting in favor:

Dr. Shelia Austin

Dr. Faron Hollinger

Mr. Ryan Kendall

Mr. Charles Knight

Dr. Cynthia McCarty

Mrs. Julie Ann McCulley

Dr. Sharon Porterfield

Mrs. LaKeisha Wheeler

Entered at 12:07

Dr. Dorothy Houston

Strategic Plan Update: Consideration of Mission and Vision

Mrs. Searcy presented the updated mission and vision statements as part of the ongoing strategic planning with School Works. The APCSC staff and members of the commission had a two-day workshop to develop a new vision and mission. On a motion by Commissioner McCarty and seconded by Commissioner Knight the commission voted unanimously to approve the updated mission and vision statement.

Commissioners voting in favor:

Dr. Shelia Austin

Dr. Faron Hollinger

Mr. Ryan Kendall

Mr. Charles Knight

Dr. Cynthia McCarty

Mrs. Julie Ann McCulley

Dr. Sharon Porterfield

Mrs. LaKeisha Wheeler

Dr. Dorothy Houston

Charter School Academic Presentation

Via a power point presentation, Dr. Bowman shared with the commission an academic report for all commission charter schools.

<u>Commission and Charter School Updates: Commission Budget Analysis and Online and On-Site Visits to</u> ensure Adherence to State and Federal Law

Via a power point presentation, Dr. Riley shared with the commission The Alabama Public Charter School Commission's budget analysis. Dr. Riley also shared that the staff would be going on site visits and providing checklists for schools so they could know what to expect.

Executive Director Updates

- 1. Next commission meeting: The APCSC will meet on February 25, 2025, at AUM for a collaboration day and agreed to hold the next commission meeting at that time.
- 2. The ASSELL Grant Writing has been sent to the state Procurement Officer and will then go before the Legislative Oversight Committee.

<u>Adjourn</u>

Chairman Austin thanked everyone for their time. On motion by Commissioner McCarty and seconded by Commissioner McCulley the commission voted unanimously to adjourn. The meeting was adjourned at 1:01 P.M.

Submitted by:	Omanda L. Inabinett	Amanda L. Inabinett Printed Name:
Approved by:	Di Min	Sheila Austin Printed Name: